Day 53: Not with a whimper, but a bang

bang2

Today was the first workday of 2016, The Year to Conquer! And it started with a BANG.

I am re-working the way I think about setting goals for my dissertation proposal progress.

Why change how I set goals?

My previous goals (see 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9) all have a few things in common:

  • I set a word count.
  • I mentioned meetings.
  • I mentioned sending updates.
  • I mentioned general tasks.

What they do not mention is timelines or deadlines. So, I could have very uneven weeks with a lot of work happening over one or two days. It works, but it is not sustainable. This year, I am going to be in attack mode. I need to make sure that I do not run myself down and have a repeat of December (so few workdays that month).

I thought I would try something new: setting goals for each day by creating a “Plan of Attack.” This will make sure I continue to take steps to conquer my PhD but without burning myself out.

I hope it works! If not, back to the drawing board.

Plan of Attack

Since I have a big deadline on January 12, I have an attack plan for this week:

Day 53: Monday (Today)

  • Get organized.
  • Begin a brief review on technology adoption literature.
  • Make sure that my “gap” statement makes sense.
  • Meet with the SWAG team.
  • Make progress on the methods for that paper.

Day 54: Tuesday

  • Write the hypotheses and abstract.
  • Format all my tables and figures.
  • Finish the brief literature review.
    • The goal is to have 3 main articles to cite.
  • Revise the methods and results.

Day 55: Wednesday (Milestone 11)

  • Write the theory development section.
  • Write the discussion section.
  • Write the conclusion.

Day 56: Thursday

  • Write the introduction.
  • Catch-up if I am behind.
  • Review the entire paper.
  • Help finish the SWAG analysis is done.

Day 57: Friday

  • Catch-up if I am behind.
  • Send complete paper to my mentors.
  • Begin abstract write-up for SWAG.

If I follow this plan, I should be ready to submit my paper.  It is possible that upon review, my mentors will disagree with my gap and thus the theory, so I have the weekend to fix things if necessary.

I am tracking my progress here.
Join me: 100 Day Challenge Tracking

2 Replies to “Day 53: Not with a whimper, but a bang”

Leave a Reply

