Day 39: The Return of The Countdown

To anyone paying attention, it would be easy to notice that on November 30, my 100 day challenge countdown stopped. It was the end of #AcWriMo and I was completely exhausted. I needed a day or two to rest. And I slipped. Two days turned into three. Then four turned into a week.

Part of me wants to write about how I felt guilty. Or how much I missed work.

But those would be lies.

Each morning when I woke up, I made the decision to be kind to myself. To let myself rest. The key here is that it was my decision. I refuse to feel guilty about something that was my choice and in my best interest. I still had moments of academic guilt, but I am getting better at managing them.

I did not miss working in my dissertation either. After 30 days of intense focus, I was loosing my edge. I was too close to my writing and my research. I was making the same arguments over and over without improvement. Taking time off is just what my writing and my ideas needed.

So, now that I am rested, I can go back to writing!


I am tracking my progress here.
Join me: 100 Day Challenge Tracking

One Reply to “Day 39: The Return of The Countdown”

Leave a Reply

