Day 38: Celebration!

day-of-the-dead-335684_1920.jpg

Today I am celebrating for two reasons:

  1. It is the last day of #AcWriMo.
  2. My husband completed the first draft of his dissertation.

My husband, Matt, and I met in our PhD Program. He is one year ahead of me in this process and is one of the most diligent and hardworking individuals I have ever met.

Big Goals

At the beginning of November we both set our Academic Writing Month goals. I would complete Paper 1 (lit review) and begin Paper 2 (Innovation Diffusion) for my three paper dissertation proposal. He would complete the first draft of his dissertation.

Working Together

We are both finishing our degrees far away from our home institution. He has the additional challenge of having a job. He found his dream job, and it had a start date several months before his dissertation defense. So, he has had to work, full-time, and finish his degree.

There are many challenges that arise when you work away from your university. But together, we have overcome them.

He is the ultimate accountability buddy. We help each other wake up at 5:00 am in the morning – even on weekends. We make sure we both make progress every day. If we were not doing this together, it would be almost impossible to do it alone.

So today, we celebrate!

I celebrate him, for finishing that first draft. For being my rock when the academic blues hit me. For being my cheerleader when I make small progress towards my goals. For keeping me sane as I do this PhD while he is doing his own.

¡Muchas felicidades, mi amor!

Now to celebrate the LAST DAY of #AcWriMo:


I am tracking my progress here.
Join me: 100 Day Challenge Tracking

One comment

Leave a Reply

