Day 34: Small Victories

victory-woman.jpg

Every day since my 100 Day Challenge started, I have been tracking how many words I write, how much I read, and the progress I make.

Today I accomplished a major win: I sent Paper 1 (literature review) to my advisor! I completed the final draft weeks ago, but it has taken me this long to edit and proofread the 51 page document.

Reaching this major milestone made me realize that over the last 34 days I have been doing something very different and vital to my progress:

Celebrating Small Victories

As I began this challenge, I was feeling pretty hopeless. I doubted myself and my abilities to actually make it in the PhD Program. I was even considering to quit.

I felt like I had done nothing at all.

A key part of this challenge is tracking my progress, however small. Every day I record the number of words, the number of articles I read, and other academic activities.

Each day I work, I make some progress. Some days, it feels like it is not enough. Some times I think that, at my pace, I will never finish.

But I still track my activities.

And when I write on my spreadsheet what I did that day, I celebrate! Because working on something is better than doing nothing.

And now, a little over a month later, I can see how all those small victories have added up to a big win. Because it is true what they say:

A dissertation happens one day at a time.

I can’t write it in one day or one week. This takes work and dedication over a long period of time. If I were to only celebrate the big milestones, I would celebrate once ever three months (or less). I would probably end up hopeless like I was before this challenge.

So, I will continue to celebrate all the small victories. Because each and every one of them will help me get to the PhD!

Now to celebrate Day 25 of #AcWriMo:


I am tracking my progress here.
Join me: 100 Day Challenge Tracking

2 Replies to “Day 34: Small Victories”

Leave a Reply

