Day 33: Quora and Dyslexia

Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 7.02.55 PM.png

I had been a long-time lurker in Quora. I had an account, and I usually spent time reading answers to questions that were interesting.

I always thought it was fascinating that people would give their time to writing answers for strangers.

And then I saw a question that I obviously could not resist:

Can a person with dyslexia study for a PhD? Can he succeed?

I wrote an answer and sent it off into the interwebs.

Then I started to find may other questions about dyslexia and I thought, why not. So I answered.

As it turns out, people are reading my answers – and Quora gave a nice little ribbon image for being a “Most Viewed Writer” in Dyslexia (over the last 30 days. I have only 365 views. Very few, really.

This is nice, but it made me realize how little activity there is in that site regarding Dyslexia. There are 418 questions and 1,100 followers. It is very difficult to find the total number of Quora users. But it is estimated to be 500,000 as of 2011 according to Wikipedia (not very recent numbers). In comparison, the Dyslexia topic has very low numbers.

There are A LOT of us dyslexics out there. I am not sure if we are not asking questions. Or if we are not answering. Or if a word-based system to ask questions is not be best way to handle things for dyslexics.

What I do know is that I hope that community grows so we have more questions and more robust conversations. I would like to see more successful Dyslexics discussing their experiences and engaging in the community.

When that happens, I will very likely not be a “Most Viewed Writer” and that will be great. Because it will mean that the dyslexic community has more information available with better people than me contributing!

So, head over to Quora and start answering questions!

Now to celebrate Day 24 of #AcWriMo:


I am tracking my progress here.
Join me: 100 Day Challenge Tracking

2 comments

Leave a Reply

