Day 22: Shitty First Draft

Perfection is stagnation

November has been an uncharacteristically productive month. This is thanks to #AcWriMo and my own 100 Day Challenge.

The interesting part about that realization is that I have always had it in me to be this productive – so why wasn’t I?

PERFECTIONISM

A long time ago, my husband told me about the idea of the “Crappy First Draft” or the “Shitty First Draft.”

The first time I heard him say that I was horrified! How could you let yourself put essentially crap on a page. What you put on a page, I used to think, was a reflection of yourself and your work ethic. The horror.

But this month, in my push to put words on paper, I wrote some bad (and I do mean terrible) words in my draft.

And guess what? Nothing bad happened. In fact, everything is awesome.

So, here are the top three things I learned by embracing the AWESOMENESS of the SHITTY First Draft:

  1. I wrote more and faster.
  2. More words on paper = happier me.
  3. Editing is a lot faster.

YAY!!!

Now to celebrate Day 13 of #AcWriMo:


I am tracking my progress here.
Join me: 100 Day Challenge Tracking.

2 Replies to “Day 22: Shitty First Draft”

Leave a Reply

