Day 16: The Horror

I have been hard at work finishing my literature review. I originally thought it would take me three weeks to complete. It has been three weeks. I am not even half-way done.

What happened?

Missing files.

This is one of the worst nightmares of graduate students and researchers everywhere. Actually, this is a nightmare for anyone.

I made a marvelous spreadsheet. It had all the papers I have read for my dissertation. And I used a LOT of detail in my record keeping. It took me MONTHS to do it. And it was the key to my AcWriMo goal of finishing my lit review.

And it is gone. Disappeared.

It was very painful. I allowed myself one evening of wallowing in self-pity (and a nice drink) to shake off the sinking feeling of failure.

So, my writing is going slowly – painfully, frustratingly – slowly as I recreate the missing. Fortunately, I don’t have to re-read every word in every paper to remember what each paper was about. But it is a setback.

Sigh.

Nothing else to do but to keep going: ¡Arriba y Adelante!

Now to celebrate Day 7 of #AcWriMo:


I am tracking my progress here.
Join me: 100 Day Challenge Tracking.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

