Day 9: Early Morning

Once upon a time, I was an early morning person. I used to get more done by 10 am than most people could accomplish in an entire day.

Then grad school happened.

It was hard to keep up a routine. There was virtually no external structure. I inevitably lost my super early morning edge. I tried to hold on to my other routines, but those failed as well.

Then winter happened.

I lived in Seattle and I got a very extreme case of Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD). I was lethargic most of the day for the duration of winter. No amount of vitamin D or light therapy seemed to help. This completely changed the kind of person I was. Not just in the mornings, but overall:

Now that I am in a different city, I have slowly become my old self again. Except for the morning bit. I have been resisting waking up early.

But yesterday, as I saw my lack of progress on my dissertation proposal, I had to think about how to fix it. And I remembered that a long time ago – during my productive pre-grad school days – my philosophy was:

To conquer the day, wake up at 5 am

So today, on a Saturday, even though I explicitly banned weekends from my 100 day challenge, I Clau González with the help and support of my husband, Matt Eliseo, woke up at 5 am.

I have a dissertation proposal to write. He has a dissertation to write. We are on a timeline. It is time to get things done!

And it worked!! Before 10 am, I had accomplished my writing goal:

The Pomodoro Technique, the PhDometer, and now an early morning routine are all helping me. I will keep adjusting as I go along – but for now I am glad something is working.


I am tracking my progress here.
Join me: 100 Day Challenge Tracking.

8 comments

Leave a Reply

