Day 8: The Pomodoro Technique

Today was a day of meetings and errands. But I still need to get some writing done. Not just because crappy words on paper are better than no words at all. But because I have to send an update to my mentor tomorrow morning.

In the past, I have taken days of meetings as permission to not write or be academically productive. This is exactly how I ended up making no discernible progress on my dissertation for a year.

Yesterday I discussed how I downloaded a Chrome Extension called Strict Workflow. It is based on the Pomodoro Technique.  The entire idea behind this technique is to work WITH time instead of AGAINST it. All you do is choose a task and set a timer for 25 minutes. You work, free of distractions, for that amount of time and then take a 5 minute break. After four of these cycles, you take a longer break.

I only had about 45 minutes in between meetings. So I set the timer and got to work. It helped me stay focused to get some writing done!

YAY for small victories!!


I am tracking my progress here.
Join me: 100 Day Challenge Tracking.

5 Replies to “Day 8: The Pomodoro Technique”

Leave a Reply

