Day 7: Preparing for #AcWriMo

November is just around the corner and that means that Academic Writing Month (#AcWriMo) is upon us!

Academic Writing Month

The best advise I have seen prior to taking on this challenge is to be prepared to write. 

These are the steps I am taking in order to be ready.

First, I announced it to the world:

Second, I realized that it is time for a web blocker. I have tried a few over the years, but the idea of not checking my email stresses me out. So, I will be using the Pomodoro Technique and the Strict Workflow chrome extension.

Strict Workflow

Third, I did a lot of reading and note taking today. One of my biggest weaknesses, as I have discussed, is overthinking. So, for one day only – and I mean it – I would just do reading. No more allowing myself to call a day productive if I did not write words.

Fourth, I bought the PhD’odometer app. I spent a lot of time editing today. And I ended up loosing words! So very sad. This little app counts all the words – including edits! No more “unproductive” writing days!

PhDodometer

In the words of the great SpongeBob:


I am tracking my progress here.
Join me: 100 Day Challenge Tracking.

4 Replies to “Day 7: Preparing for #AcWriMo”

Leave a Reply

