Day 4: The Right Tools

Today was a very frustrating day because DYSLEXIA.

All I wanted to do was read. The problem was that I just wanted to read a book. A print book. (cue dramatic music).

Writing may be the bane of my existence, but reading is just as hard. I often scan what I need to read, run it through OCR (Optical Character Recognition) software, and let Serena, my British English voice, read away.

The problem today is that I am no longer conducting my studies at my University. For a number of reasons, health being the most important, I had to move back home. I am still (obviously) working on my PhD. I still have access to my email and the library resources. Most importantly, I still have access to the journals I need to read.

But I do not have access to books. So, what is a scholar-to-be away from her home institution to do? Well, if you live in the DC area the answer is the Library of Congress.

The Library of Congress has had every book I needed to read for my literature review. And they also have scanners. So, one chapter at a time, I scan, I crop the image, run it through OCR, and get each page ready to read.

But this takes forever. And it is frustrating.

Then the OCR did not work correctly. Frustration!

OCR-Comparison

If I had $35 I would have bought the ebook. But I am a poor grad student, so that did not happen.

Still. I want that PhD. So I will put in all the hours I need in order to be able to start reading a book. Because that’s how you roll when you have Dyslexia.


I am tracking my progress here.
Join me: 100 Day Challenge Tracking.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

