Day 3: Juggling Priorities

10 Doctor You Should Be Writing

Today was going to be a writing day. But it turned out into a meeting-and-getting-new-projects-started-day instead. It is only the second day, and I am already behind.

I am behind, by one set of metrics: number of words written. By other metrics, I am doing just fine. So why is there disconnect?

Priorities.

In grad school there is one single priority: Writing.

If you are not writing, you are not working. And as a dyslexic person, that ethos is the bane of my grad school existence. And what scares me most about pursuing a career in this field.

And it is hard.

Being in an environment where there is only one acceptable thing to do is never easy. Most people do not have that single-minded focus. Nor should they.

I cannot fix the ivory tower’s priorities. And I cannot change the culture of an entire profession.

Instead, I am going to forgive myself for not writing more and embrace the fact that in order to have something to write about, you need to do everything else.


I am tracking my progress here.
Join me: 100 Day Challenge Tracking.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

