Day 2: A Rough Start

Overestimation

Overestimation.

That is a problem. Today, I had hoped to read two different papers and write one page (about 1,000 words). Alas, I did about half.

I have mentioned before in my post about how to survive grad school with Dyslexia, that my general rule of thumb is to work twice as hard for twice as long. Today, I did that, but only accomplished about half of what I set out to do.

So why did this happen?

1. Distractions.

I have tried to reduce distractions by choosing the right environment. But no matter where I go, I still have internet. And with internet comes all of the world a few clicks away.

2. Overthinking.

I read and re-read my source material. Then I read the material that was cited. I sometimes even create mindmaps of what I read to see how it fits in the larger picture. All the while I should have been writing.

3. Perfectionism.

When I write a sentence, I hesitate to put it on paper. I start writing it, then I delete it, then I re-start it again. The issue is that I should be putting ideas on paper, not sentence fractions.

What am I doing about it?

Today, my mentor was in town. When we were discussing research ideas and ways to move forward with the dissertation, he reminded me that I have a problem wth perfectionism. He also reminded me that I need to learn how to write academic papers.

A long time ago, he taught me how to write out the logic of a paper. And I needed to hear that lesson again.

Tomorrow, I will do better!


I am tracking my progress here.
Join me: 100 Day Challenge Tracking.

One Reply to “Day 2: A Rough Start”

Leave a Reply

