Day 1: The 100 Day Challenge

100dayschallenge

I passed my Comprehensive Exams on September 23, 2014. It has been over a year and I am STILL NOT a candidate. Sigh.

There are plenty of excuses as to why:

  • First, I had to recover. The comps process was very hard on my body and mind. I needed to get those back up before using up my resources again.
  • Second, I started teaching. I had never taught before, and I was in charge of my own class. The prep took time. And so did teaching. I did not know that being in contact with so many students was going to mean being sick with something or another EVERY SINGLE WEEK.
  • Third, I took an unnecessary seminar. Having passed comps means no more classes. But, during my second year I promised a faculty member I would enroll in their seminar. So I did. It was interesting, it helped me write. But it still took time.

I did make progress, though. I presented my preliminary ideas in a department-wide presentation and I received good feedback. The best feedback I received was on my presentation skills. But the faculty seemed engaged with my ideas too.

But then, life happened. I needed to take care of my health, so I moved back home. I am still a student. But now I don’t have the benefit of being next to my faculty advisors.

Yikes.

While it has only been a few weeks, I am finding it difficult to stay engaged in making progress towards the PhD. I constantly find ways to be an active procrastinator. Yes, I am working. But I should be working on something else. This needs to stop. And it needs to stop yesterday.

Enter the 100 day Challenge.

Or rather, the 100 workday challenge. I am a firm believer in work-life balance and this requires weekends.

So this is my promise, to myself, to my accountability buddies, and to anyone who reads this:

In 100 days, I commit to having a complete draft of my dissertation proposal.

No more excuses!

Join Me!

There are plenty of ways to join me in this challenge!

  1. Just leave a comment below. This is day one of your challenge. The next day, go to Day 2 and post your progress. Go to the 100 Day Challenge Tracking Post to find the right day.
  2. Add a badge to your website! Just save the picture on this post and begin your own countdown.
  3. Create your own spreadhseet. I am tracking my progress here. Want to add a tab to this document? Send me a message.

I am tracking my progress on a spread sheet here.
Join me: 100 Day Challenge Tracking.

12 Replies to “Day 1: The 100 Day Challenge”

Leave a Reply

